Fine Music Sydney is owned and operated by the Music Broadcasting Society of New South Wales Co-operative Limited. Fine Music is a registered charitable organisation with a Charity Fundraising Number and is listed with the Register of Cultural Organisations. Fine Music Sydney is a Community Radio station and a member of the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. Fine Music Sydney (formerly known as 2MBS and Fine Music 102.5) is Australia’s first stereo FM radio station. The station was officially opened on 1 February 1975 and we have now been on air for over 45 years. Fine Music Sydney plays an important role in encouraging emerging musicians and music lovers in their ambitions to be professional musicians or broadcasters. Fine Music Sydney is an integral part of Sydney’s cultural landscape promoting and encouraging an active live classical and jazz music scene in our community and supporting music education. The Fine Music Emerging Artist program includes: Artists in Residence, Young Composer Award, Young Virtuoso Award, Stefan Kruger Scholarship, Ken Weatherly Jazz Scholarship and our Emerging Artist Workshops and Fine Music Showcase broadcasts. 

Mission Statement
​​To share the love of fine music through broadcasting

1. To be Sydney’s preferred broadcaster of classical music, jazz and other specialist music genres
2. To maintain and improve high standards in all we do
3. To promote Australian musicians and composers, with particular focus on the young
4. To provide a supportive and enjoyable work environment for volunteers and staff
​5. To develop a sustainable financial model for the organisation


Vice Regal Patron: Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AO QC, Governor of New South Wales 
Honorary Patron: Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO
Artistic Patrons: Elena Kats-Chernin, Simon Tedeschi, Richard Tognetti AO, Brett Weymark
Emerging Artists Patron: Toby Thatcher


Young Composer Award 2019: Callum O’Reilly
Young Virtuoso Award 2019: Justinn Lu
Kruger Scholar 2020: Harry Sdraulig
Weatherly Scholar 2020: Kate Wadey
Artist in Residence 2020: Marais Project
Associate Artist in Residence 2019: States of Chaos


It is important to note that apart from a small staff team, Fine Music Sydney functions through the involvement of dedicated volunteers who generously contribute their time and talents across all aspects of the radio station.

 Michael Morton-Evans OAM Deputy Chair: Roger Doyle Secretary: Robert Gilchrist Directors: Nicky Gluch, Sue Jowell, Jayson McBride, Sue Ping Kee, Peter Poole Appointed Directors: Bruce Hambrett, Peter Stavrianos


STAFF: Station Manager: Ray Kington Marketing and PR Manager: Mona Omar Studio and Production Manager: Joe Goddard
Office Manager: Sharon Sullivan Digital Content Producer: Lyndon Pike Executive Assistant: Hamish Mathers-Jones

TECHNICAL ADVISORS: Honorary Technical Advisor: Max Benyon OAM, Broadcast Engineer: John Shenstone
Broadcast Systems Engineer: Roger Doyle, Information Technology Consultant: Peter Bell Recording Engineer: Jayson McBride

COMMITTEE CHAIRS: Fundraising: Sue Jowell Jazz: Jeannie McInnes Library: Rex Burgess Presenters: Michael Field AM
Programming: James Nightingale Technical: Peter Bell Volunteers: Sue Nicholas Finance: Peter Poole WHS: David Edmonds

The Business

Business name 1#: Music Broadcasting Society of NSW Co-Operative Limited Business name 2#: Fine Music Sydney
Business structure: Co-Operative Limited
ABN: 64 379 540 010
TFN: 42 897 459
CFN: 10603
GST: Registered

Business & Studio location: 72-76 Chandos Street, St Leonards, NSW 2065, Australia
Transmitter location: Floor 64, Governor Phillip Tower/ 1 Farrer Place, Sydney, NSW 2000
Date established: 15 December 1974
Names of owners: Music Broadcasting Society of New South Wales Cooperative Limited